Friday, March 02, 2012

Seven NJ Towns to Receive New FEMA Flood Funds

Governor Christie announced on Thursday that New Jersey will receive $21.6 million in Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Hazard Mitigation Grant funding to acquire (“buy-out”) and elevate properties in flood-ravaged areas in the northern and central part of the state. This was a response to widespread flood damage resulting primarily from heavy rains from Hurricane Irene on August 27 to September 5, 2011.

Phase II if the FEMA program will benefit seven communities will receive funding; specifically, Pompton Lakes, Cranford, Denville, New Milford, Parsippany-Troy Hills, Paterson, and Westwood. Funding became available to the state under a Major Presidential Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Irene.

More from the New Jersey Tomato Press.

Federal disaster assistance for NJ in 2011 topped out at 275 Million.

No comments:

Post a Comment